My Week In Photographs

The beginning of the week saw the return of the sun, after several days of murky weather. I hiked long and far in the forest, quietly rejoicing whenever I caught sight of golden sunlight illuminating a pine bough. Many times I stopped in my tracks, just wanting to watch until the clouds shifted across the face of the sun and the golden display disappeared. I’d never before paid attention to how sun rays land on branches, and the sun had never bewitched me before I ventured into the forest on that sun drenched day.

sun_635916727765775312_Afterlight_Edit

I’ve spent a long time trying to find an online Swedish course which suits me. The beginning of the week saw me find one, and I began my Swedish language training. One of the very first pieces of advice that I read was this…

pic4_635916546220072030_Afterlight_Edit

The past few weeks have been manic, but this week I managed to get back into a project which I’ve been working on for quite some time. My Other Shadows is a project where I take a self-portrait every day for one hundred days. (If you’re interested in seeing more of my portraits, I have them all posted here.) This is portrait number thirty five, and the one I’m probably most happiest with.

1pic_635916541432169294_Afterlight_Edit

I spent a great deal of time with the Elsa Beskow book that I borrowed from the library, turning the pages as carefully as I did when I was a child. Memories came flooding back…of when I would sit cross legged in front of the fire, quietly absorbed in the gentle stories.

e3_635913137367372865_Afterlight_Edit

Before I came to Sweden, I nabbed about 100 Yorkshire Tea bags from my parent’s kitchen cupboard. Sadly, this week my stash ran out. Unfortunately, Yorkshire Tea isn’t sold in Sweden but they do sell the next best thing – Liptons Yellow Label.

2pic_635916543778182802_Afterlight_Edit

One of the things I adore about Swedes is their love for lighting up windows in the evenings. Here in Bor√•s, it’s extremely rare to see a window not lit up at night. It’s also a rarity for Swedes to have curtains or blinds pulled across the glass, even in the evening. Walking the streets of our neighborhood after dark always feels so special, and puts me in an almost festive mood, despite the fact that spring is hiding just around the corner.

lamp_635916717558141712_Afterlight_Edit

Today I launched The Girl With Cold Hands shop, selling photography I have featured here on the blog. This is a really exciting venture for me, and I’m hoping to add new products to the store on an almost daily basis.

BeFunky Collage.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

