Baby Steps With Swedish

I’ve always struggled with learning a new language, ever since my school days. (Though when I was 8 my language teacher did tell me I could do an excellent German accent! A comment I’ve always held close with pride.)

Despite having an intense passion in what I’m trying to learn, a lot of the time the information simply refuses to stick, and flits away from my memory bank. This is especially the case when it comes down to the grammar side of things. This is an area which continues to flummox me, even in my native tongue – English.

This inability to neatly store away certain information in my brain has done some damage to my self-esteem over the years, and has left me feeling stupid, and at a loss as to how to change my situation. However, despite my previous experiences with language learning and the anxiety that comes creeping, I am putting my all into developing my Swedish skills.

This week, I have been building up my confidence with baby steps. I’ve been practising the tiny bits of Swedish that I know with Sebastian’s adorable little girl, for example, when we play hide and seek. And today I conquered a pronunciation hurdle that has been up against me for days.

I know that learning Swedish is going to be a long and slow process, but I’m committed to mastering this beautiful, melodic tongue, and one day calling it my own.

 

Leave a Reply

