Beautiful Things From Emmaus Björkå

I’m a passionate thrifter. Always have been, always will be. So, when I arrived in Sweden and my new city of Borås, one of the first things I did was to locate the second hand stores and investigate them.

Now, in England our second hand shops tend to be small, extremely small. Sometimes they’re only big enough for four or five people at a time. The second hand stores in Sweden however, (or at least the ones in Borås) are enormous. Big enough to get lost in among the racks and rails and shelves. I can remember when Sebastian first showed me around our local second hand hang outs…I couldn’t wipe the smile off my face for a week!

Though it was February when I first located the thrift stores, it’s only now, in late April, that I’ve actually allowed myself to buy anything. The past few months I’ve been strict with my budget, only spending money on things that are absolutely necessary.

But the other day, an opportunity arose for me to try and hunt down a dress for a photo shoot, and I took this as a sign that I should actually let loose for a day, and treat myself to some ‘new’ clothes. So, with a small budget I headed to Emmaus Björkå, a second hand store where the proceeds from sales go towards providing material and financial support to organizations working for the rights of undocumented refugees in Sweden.

The store itself was beautifully laid out (I’ll have to go back and photograph it…) with everything arranged by colour, (even the books!) making for a positively thrilling thrifting adventure. I spent at least two hours slowly making my way through their high quality wares. Many second hand stores in the UK sell clothing that is ripped and tatty, but almost everything I picked up to look at in Emmaus was in pristine condition, and very fairly priced.

I came away a very happy woman, with two scarves and three dresses for 334 Krona (about £28). I decided that I wanted to do something a little bit special with my first thrift haul in Sweden, so I took my finds to the forest…

pale_635970142376983712_Afterlight_Edit

t27_635970199624856707_Afterlight_Edit

t1_635970160597327416_Afterlight_Edit

t41_635970209105593065_Afterlight_Edit

t45_635970213113240969_Afterlight_Edit

sunlight_635970121592895696_Afterlight_Edit

t9_635970176072525086_Afterlight_Edit

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Beautiful Things From Emmaus Björkå

Leave a Reply

