Getting My Hair Cut At Salong X-Trem

After a monumental morning where I let go off all of my insecurities, I decided that it would be a great idea to go and get my hair done. Popping into the hairdressers is easy enough…right? Well, actually, no. It isn’t. Not in Sweden. Not for me.

You see, I had been struggling to step foot inside the nearby hairdressing salon and ask for a price list. I have no idea why I felt so insecure about doing this. Going shopping wasn’t a problem, so why was going to the hairdressers such a big deal? (I ended up finding the price list for the nearby salon online – and realised it was way out of my price range anyway…)

I mentioned this issue to my England born, Sweden based friend Cat when she was visiting the other week,  and she told me that she had exactly the same issue. We both agreed that we felt embarrassed by the fact we don’t speak fluent Swedish, and were worried people would laugh at us. But I think there was more to it than that. A hairdressing salon is an entirely different environment to a supermarket. At the supermarket the staff deal with English speakers all the time, but it’s a different story when it comes to getting your hair cut. The fear that I had still remains something of a mystery though.

But this afternoon I gathered up my courage and walked into Salong X-Trem, near the centre of Borås. The man who greeted me was extremely polite, offering me an appointment for today, which I snapped up immediately.

I arrived a little bit early for my appointment and, as I skimmed the hair magazines, I watched the hairdresser work some magic on another client, and silently congratulated myself on bring brave enough to come inside.

My appointment came round and I was treated with the utmost kindness and respect. The hairdresser listened to what I had to say, and then made his suggestions which I took on board. He then went to work and never, in all of hair cutting experiences, has someone worked so gently with my hair. It made me feel as though I was carrying something precious on my head. He was gentle but fast with the scissors and precise. We didn’t exchange many words, but when he was done the only words I had to give were ‘perfect’ and ‘thank you so much.’My hair was sleek, the ends even, my fringe full and shiny. I felt like I could quite possibly fly home.

The price tag of 220 kroner was a welcome surprise. For what he had done you would have paid twice the price in the UK. I handed him 250 kroner and the temptation to tell him to keep the extra 30 kroner as a tip was enormous. But being a skint writer, I sadly wasn’t able to.

As I walked back home, I held my head high. I felt beautiful and happy and so proud of my shorter, sleeker look. Salong X-Trem is a place that will see me and my hair again.

636027340229146732_Afterlight_Edit636027348588608035_Afterlight_Edit

 

Leave a Reply

