Learning Swedish : Little Tyra, The Gruffalo & Duolingo

Little Tyra has recently become infatuated with The Gruffalo (or Gruffalon) and the other night she wanted me to read it to her. But I couldn’t. Sebastian helped me to read the first few lines but I felt ashamed, sad and frustrated that I wasn’t able to relax, read in fluent Swedish and let Tyra wander in the world of the Gruffalo with my help.

But this experience was the push I needed to really kick start my language learning. It has been so easy to just talk English with Sebastian, that I haven’t remained disciplined. Every now and then I’ll learn a new word, and I’ll always try and repeat the words that I’ve learned when I’m with Tyra, but I need to be doing more. Much more.

It’s hard learning a new language, and even if you are eager to learn it and love everything about the language itself, it can be a daunting task to sit down and teach yourself, or even let your loved one teach you. I think one of the problems that I’ve had is knowing which method is best…which way of learning Swedish is really the most effective.

Eventually, I decided that it would be a good idea to put a call out on Facebook, asking for advice on learning a new language. Several of my friends recommended that I try Duolingo, a 100% free language learning app that has over 120 million registered users over the world.

Duolingo takes a bit of getting used to, and there’s unnecessary ‘accessories’ on the site i.e. lingots which are Duolingos virtual currency, but overall I’m really enjoying the lessons and feel upbeat when I leave the site after completing my tasks.

Duoligno is a great resource right now, but I can’t tell you how much I’m looking forward to being a ‘real’ student of the Swedish language when I start the Swedish For Immigrants course, and how much I’m looking forward to having a teacher on my case, giving me instructions and guidance and, most importantly, encouraging discipline.

4 thoughts on “Learning Swedish : Little Tyra, The Gruffalo & Duolingo

  1. I’ve been learning Swedish too (planning on moving there!). Aside from Duolingo, Memrise is a great free app. 🙂 I also use Rosetta Stone (a bit pricier). I know for me, I learn best when I’m using more than one program simultaneously. I get a better, all-around feel for the language. But you’re already in Sweden! Would love to know how the Swedish For Immigrants course turns out. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

