How I Spent October

October was an extremely special, productive and, despite the darkening days (which I love anyway), an enlightening month. I’ve always held Autumn close to my heart, but I had no idea quite how strong a spell the changing of the leaves could hold over me. I’ve lost count of the hours I’ve spent simply staring out of the window.

It was a month where I really focused on my photography, and pushed the boundaries of what I thought I could accomplish as, dare I say it, a photographer. With the help of two special ladies and our art project The Divine Weirdos, I’ve been able to explore new darknesses. I’ve never had the courage to call myself a photographer before today, and when I say it it is with a slight waver to my voice. I think it’ll be a while before I write it anywhere other than here. I’ve always felt there were too many ways in which I still have to develop before I can give myself the title.

October also found me being proactive in terms of discovering new Swedish foods and culinary traditions. It’ so easy to get stuck in routines…and I made a determined effort to lay some to rest.

October was all of this, and so much more. I hope you enjoy the following photographs and words and where they lead…

636110345038845320_afterlight_edit

My talented friend Erzabeth Svedlund and I magicked up Bride Of The Birds, a photoshoot involving a wedding dress, owl like makeup and our beloved forest.

636123913018493200_afterlight_edit

Photo : Erzabeth Svedlund

636124677910151490_Afterlight_Edit.jpg

Photo : Margit Angéla-Brigitta Mortrand

October saw me get crafty…especially crafty actually. I’m so proud of how crafty I was. I manifested the creature you see above you (for a Divine Weirdos photoshoot) creating the fingers out of silver foil and black tape.

They celebrated National Poetry Day in Britain on the 6th of October, so I did my part here in Sweden and wrote this poem.

IMG_6194

The first episode of a documentary which I’ve been working on with my man and his band Rimfrost was released…and very well received!

636115517021061070_afterlight_edit

I tried Swedish blodpudding for the first time (and adored it!) ….

636117268447935828_afterlight_edit

img_2354

img_2503

636119779295818652_afterlight_edit

img_2961

636123262610514925_afterlight_edit

…and re-shaped how I take my Fika for a week. (Click on the photo you like to go to the post).

tp875x875fffffff-6u1h

I uploaded new photos for sale in my shop, including images I caught of dewy spider webs in the early morning.

636128350894263467_afterlight_edit

We enjoyed the Halloween celebrations at Liseberg.

636130846385517041_afterlight_edit

I went out before breakfast to catch the mist

…and was contacted by Douglas Elliman Real Estate to take part in a Fall Style Board Challenge…which I graciously accepted.

I also helped Rimfrost to take some photographs…which will be revealed soon…and filmed them LIVE shopping! If you want to know what I’m talking about, head to their Facebook page.

636135152965724430_afterlight_edit

I eagerly anticipated my first Halloween in Sweden, and celebrated in a way much more my style than heading to a loud party…by taking photos in the forest, eating cake and watching Penny Dreadful. The festivities aren’t quite over yet though…the pumpkins will stay alight until the 6th of November!

 

A cold winter is predicted, and snow is already on the way! I’m shivering with excitement over what November will bring.

 

 

2 thoughts on “How I Spent October

Leave a Reply

