Start As I Mean To Go On : Breakfast With Havregryn

We all do it…we all say to ourselves, be it in a quiet whisper or a proud announcement on social media, that ‘this is the year we’re going to eat better.’ I’m managing this, in little ways, like by eating havregryn (rolled oats) for breakfast instead of a bowl of sugary, processed cereal.

Now, I’m not sure exactly why Swedish rolled oats taste different to the Scottish rolled oats that I’m used to, though it’s probably something to do with the crop. They taste healthier, more rustic. Havregryn is what I imagine porridge to have tasted like when the Vikings ate it three times a day.

We make it with water here and cook it on the stove, just as I did in England The Swedes like to add a bit of salt too. Instead of topping it with treacle though, we add a spoon of apple sauce, lots of cinnamon and sometimes a splash of milk.

Thankfully, it’s just as filling as the porridge of home, and though its taking me a little while to get used to the taste, I’m looking forward to adding some of the blueberries we gathered in the forests during summer to my next bowl.

636192515348887607_afterlight_edit636192516997874058_afterlight_edit

Leave a Reply

